In partnership with CBSSports.com
The Web's No. 1 forum for coverage and discussion of Terps sports
Visitor discussion of University of Maryland and college sports
A place for lively discussion for all other sports unrelated to Maryland athletics
Feedback for IMS and 247Sports
You have no favorite boards.
The most viewed topics.
The most replied to topics.
The most up-voted topics.
The most down-voted topics.
The most up-voted posters.
The most down-voted posters.
The most followed posters.
Understand that they ruled the ball never was in bounds and should be inbounded at the original spot. But if the ball never came in bounds, why wasn't it Maryland's ball??? Technically, by their ruling, had Mosely not touched it at all, it would have been Clemson's ball from the baseline again to throw in?
I thought the same.
From NCAA Rules, "Rule 7-Out of Bounds and the Throw-in"
During a Throw-in:
Art. 2. When the ball is out of bounds because of touching or being touched
by a player who is on or outside a boundary, such player shall have caused
the ball to go out of bounds.
I would look at it this way... Assuming it was not an infraction, even though it is, what would the call be if Sean was defending the in-bounds player and he was jumping up and down on the baseline and the ball hit him when he was out of bounds, i.e. in between his jumps his foot was on the out of bounds line and he touched the ball.
I don't think you would give the ball to Maryland. I know it is an infraction to be that close, but assume it wasn't called. I don't see how that would be Maryland's ball. I see it as no different than touching the ball out of bounds somewhere else on the court before it is put in play.
This post was edited by ScoopTerp88 2 years ago
I think in that case, they just assume the player jumping up and down was actually in bounds when he deflected it. Technically, that's a technical if he was on the baseline and jumping up and down, right?
2 steps here:
1 - Mosley was the last person to touch the ball - Clemson Ball
2 - The ball was not possessed in bounds - ball will be in bounded at the original spot
that was the dumbest 2 or 3 seconds of basketball I've ever seen, by both teams.
kickin' the tires
I was throwing the technical out in my explanation, recognizing that is not possible except in my fantasy world.
So let's say it is not on the baseline by the in bounds player, but Sean Moseley is standing out of bounds near the Maryland bench talking to Turgeon who happens to be wearing an orange tie... The Clemson player mistakes Turgeon, because of his orange tie for a Clemson player and Moseley catches the ball out of bounds. I don't see how that is our ball.
Agree with Mojo... I was just trying to be more visual and create a specific case, which was probably way too much.
If Mosely isn't in bounds, isn't it the same as throwing it to someone sitting on the bench not in the game?
Why would Turge ever wear an orange tie?. Let alone at a clemson game???
247Sports In partnership with CBS Sports