In partnership with CBSSports.com
The Web's No. 1 forum for coverage and discussion of Terps sports
Visitor discussion of University of Maryland and college sports
A place for lively discussion for all other sports unrelated to Maryland athletics
Feedback for IMS and 247Sports
You have no favorite boards.
The most viewed topics.
The most replied to topics.
The most up-voted topics.
The most down-voted topics.
The most up-voted posters.
The most down-voted posters.
The most followed posters.
Questions about how turnovers are recorded:
1. How are turnovers assigned to players? For example, Pe'Shon makes a perfect pass to Padgett but he loses it out of bounds -- who gets the TO? Same question, but this time it is a bad pass from Pe'Shon that goes off Padgett's hands.
2. Is every steal also a turnover? If so, and the defender jumps the passing lane and steals the ball, is the TO assigned to the passer or the receiver, or is it the official scorer's discretion?
I have scored basketball at Maryland before:
It's subjective in most cases. However, if a receiver fumbles a good pass, the turnover goes to the receiver, not the passer. You can technically give it to either, really, but usually it's clear cut. If it's close, the passer gets it.
Yes, every steal is also a turnover, they have to balance out. If a defender jumps the passing lane, the turnover is always going to the passer.
I would actually also like to know how assists are tallied. What are the rules when an assist is given or not.
Assists are also subjective, though usually clear cut, as well. Usually, you credit an assist if someone scores based on a pass that put them in position to score. Sometimes it's questionable if there is a pass and the receiver doesn't shoot right away, makes a dribble or two and then scores without relinquishing the ball. The pass didn't directly lead to a shot that went in, but it kind of set up a score. Quite frankly, home cooking comes into play at that point. I'm giving Maryland's guy the assist most of the time. And when you have a guy playing for all-conference honors -- *cough* Greivis Vasquez *cough* -- he's getting the fucking assist every time it's reasonable.
What about rebounds? Does every tip count as a rebound?
No, whoever ends up with the ball to change possession or keep a possession alive gets the rebound. Every missed shot, even free throws, has to have a rebound associated with it. They have to balance out 1-for-1 or your stats are wrong.
On shots that go out of bounds without anyone securing it, the team that gets the ball gets a team rebound and missed free throws on the first of two shots are dead ball rebounds.
Sometimes it stinks when someone tips a ball to keep a possession alive but doesn't secure it and doesn't get credit for the board. That's why most teams chart that separately.
However, on steals, you can give it to the person who forces it and not the person who comes up with the ball.
This post was edited by ugotwilcoxed 18 months ago
Something I didn't know, I thought a tip would count as rebound.
I always thought a deliberate tip to your own player counted as a rebound. Sounds like this is not the case?
247Sports In partnership with CBS Sports